RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube

Maupin, Mitchell, Hickey, Bates, Trent, Byers visit victory lane at Volunteer Speedway

By Volunteer Speedway | 25 August 2019 | 2019 | | 0 Comments   

Maupin, Mitchell, Hickey, Bates, Trent, Byers visit victory lane at Volunteer Speedway

BULLS GAP, Tenn. (Aug. 24, 2019) — Fans were treated to another great night of action-packed, weekly championship points racing Saturday on the high banks at Volunteer Speedway.

Tim Maupin of Johnson City led flag-to-flag in capturing his first Crate Late Model victory of the season, while a trio of drivers – Adam Mitchell of Knoxville (Sportsman Late Model), Logan Hickey of Morristown (Modified Street), and Charles Bates of Jonesborough (Classic) recorded their first-ever feature wins at “The Gap.”

Tony Trent of Morristown captured the Street Stock win, with John Byers of Knoxville getting the Mini Stock victory.

Tim Byrd and Tim Maupin entered the night of racing separated by only one-point in the Crate Late Model standings, but a strong run to victory for Maupin and tough luck for Byrd vaulted the 2014 track champion Maupin into a 13-point advantage following the race.

Maupin was fast-qualifier at 13.214 seconds with Byrd timing in second quickest at 13.270. At drop of the green they sped down the front straightaway into the first turn side-by-side, and (racing) off the second corner down the backstretch neither driver was giving an inch. Coming back around to the flag stand completing the opening lap, Maupin eased ahead into the lead over Byrd, Jason Cardwell, Shannon Emery and Bradley Lewelling.

Byrd was glued to Maupin’s back bumper, while Cardwell, Emery and Lewelling were battling for position before Emery dropped out on lap 8. Good racing just outside of the top five involving Chris Chandler, Taylor Coffman, Austin Atkins, Terry Poore and Rusty Webb.

By lap 20, Maupin had pulled out to an eight car-length lead over Cardwell, who had gotten around Byrd. The last thing Maupin wanted to see was a late race caution, but that’s what occurred on lap 28 to set up a sprint to the checkered flag. While under caution, Byrd entered the pits with an electrical ignition issue.

With the green flag waving, Cardwell stuck his nose up underneath rear of Maupin shoving him down the front straightaway. Maupin drove off hard into the corner to separate himself from Cardwell and never looked back as he captured his first win of the season over Cardwell, Lewelling, Atkins and Coffman.

Fans in attendance along with pit crew members were looking at the nighttime skies to see if a full-moon was shining, because many times when the moon is full – racing action is wild. Wild definitely described the action in the Sportsman Late Model feature. Adam Mitchell took the early lead over Chris Coffey and Travis Fultz.

Fultz was quickly on the move as he passed Chris Coffey for second on lap 2 racing off the fourth turn, and just one circuit later at the flag stand, Fultz drove past Mitchell into the lead. Caution waved on lap 4 when Aaron Jones got up against the outside wall around turns one and two, and with Jerry Boling right on his back bumper, contact between the duo saw Jones flip to bring out the red flag. Emergency personnel and track officials were quickly on the scene to check on the drivers, and both were OK.

Back under green and with a clear track ahead, Fultz began putting some distance between himself and those in pursuit – Mitchell, Chris Coffey, Vic Chandler, Addison Cardwell, Jesse Helton and David Miley. Fultz caught tail of the field to start lapping cars on lap 10, and unfortunately for him he was in the wrong place at the wrong time as Ernie Stuart and David Bullington tangled in the fourth turn directly in front of leader Fultz, collecting him in the wreck that brought out the caution. Both Fultz and Bullington restarted at rear of the field, and Stuart was done for the race.

Mitchell moved back into the lead for the restart over Chris Coffey and Chandler. The racing was good between Mitchell, Chris Coffey and Chandler up front, and eyes were on Fultz as he was charging back up through the field. … Mitchell drove a flawless race out front as the laps clicked off en route to getting his first Sportsman Late Model victory over Chandler, Chris Coffey, Rex Coffey and Fultz.  

The Hickey family has been represented around East Tennessee racing circles for many years, with Robert Hickey, Pete Hickey, Louis Hickey, Petey Hickey, Bo Hickey and Logan Hickey all involved. Logan Hickey, son of Petey, had been away from racing for a few years before getting back behind the wheel this season in the Modified Street class. … Eric Hux jumped out to the early lead and behind him racing was fast-and-furious with action two- and three-wide involving Shannon Emery, Logan Hickey, Jeffrey Melton, Gary Blanken, Kurt Owens, Michael Woods, Dustin Ratliff and Kaleb Trent. With Hux losing positions while Emery and Owens dropped out with mechanical issues just after the halfway distance, the door opened for Hickey to take the lead. Once out front there would be no denying Hickey his first Modified Street win over Woods, Blanken, Melton and Hux.

While John Stevens has been the dominant driver in the Classic division this season with eight victories, Charles Bates has turned in a really strong campaign on his own with one runner-up finish, five third-place runs and two fourth-place outings. Bates grabbed the early lead and once Stevens dropped out with rearend issues, all the pieces of the puzzle fell into place for Bates as he captured his first Classic feature win over Mitchell Millsap, Josh Chesney, Shaun Sise and Chad Manning.

Tony Trent held off a hard-charging Austin Atkins to record his first Street Stock victory this season, with David Kerr, Jason Rollins and Tony Trent rounding out the top five finishers.

John Byers captured his second Mini Stock win on the season by outrunning Larry Housley, Chad Manning, Tommy Cameron and Mitchell Fox.



1. Tim Maupin #3
2. Jason Cardwell #07
3. Bradley Lewelling #10B
4. Austin Atkins #14
5. Taylor Coffman #30
6. Terry Poore #2
7. Rusty Webb #22
8. Jackie Hughes #27
9. Jamie Stanley #5
10. Jody Adkins #41
11. Tim Sant #79
12. Tommy Eastridge #37
13. David Robbins #59
14. Kevin Jackson Jr. #20
15. Tim Byrd #24
16. Shannon Emery #52
17. Dennis Stiles #69
18. Chris Chandler #8
19. Adam Ahl #7

Did Not Start: Adam Tolliver #21, Michael Smith #4


1. Adam Mitchell #50
2. Vic Chandler #88
3. Chris Coffey #97
4. Rex Coffey #3
5. Travis Fultz #T0
6. Brad Dyer #20
7. David Bullington #20B
8. Chris Raines #00
9. Clint Hodges #83H
10. Kris Pauley #54
11. Addison Cardwell #07A
12. Jesse Helton #25
13. David Miley #71
14. Chris Long #75
15. Ernie Stuart #31
16. Jerry Boling #5
17. Aaron Jones #7J
18. Jackie Yates #43

Did Not Start: Floyd Self #3, Justin Talley #23


1. Logan Hickey #7
2. Michael Woods #66
3. Gary Blanken #05
4. Jeffrey Melton #4
5. Eric Hux #01H
6. Dustin Ratliff #10
7. Kaleb Trent #3
8. Willie Busler #31B
9. Ryan Watson #11
10. Landon Steele #S18
11. R.J. Mayes #6M
12. Shannon Emery #M2
13. Kurt Owens #14
14. Tracy Wolfe #11

CLASSIC (20 laps)

1. Charles Bates #27
2. Mitchell Millsap #42
3. Josh Chesney #XXX
4. Shaun Sise #16
5. Chad Manning #6
6. Jim Canning Jr. #31
7. Nicholas King #66
8. Jon Cook #38
9. John Stevens #7
10. Adam Ogle #26

STREET STOCK (20 laps)

1. Tony Trent #18
2. Austin Atkins #14
3. David Kerr #71K
4. Jason Rollins #012
5. Tony Trent #501
6. Wendell Williams #71
7. Sam Ferguson #1
8. Coby Scott #4
9. Michael Millsap #7
10. Marvin Green Jr. #15
11. Todd Beeler #1

MINI STOCK (20 laps)

1. John Byers #83
2. Larry Housley #30
3. Chad Manning #7up
4. Tommy Cameron #40
5. Mitchell Fox #1
6. John Gulliver #00
7. Damien Holt #18
8. Stephen Russell # 77
9. Greg Everhart #70
10. Walter Walsh #3rd Man


Volunteer Speedway: 423-235-5020
General Manager: 423-676-9080
Greg Harvey (Technical Inspection Director): 423-384-3511