RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube

Alvey, Fultz, Clark, Keck, Henry, Duggan win at ‘The Gap’

By Volunteer Speedway | 30 June 2019 | 2019 | | 0 Comments   

Alvey, Fultz, Clark, Keck, Henry, Duggan win at ‘The Gap’

BULLS GAP, Tenn. (June 29, 2019) — It’s never over until the checkered flag waves, and unfortunately for Tim Byrd he found out the true meaning about agony of defeat Saturday night at Volunteer Speedway.

Heath Alvey of Dandridge got to the inside of Byrd while the leader got held up by a slower car on the final lap racing down the backstretch, and as they raced off the fourth turn to the flagstand, Alvey nosed Byrd out for the Crate Late Model win by about one-foot.

Byrd and Adam Ahl led the 22-car field to the green flag from the front row for the 30-lap feature. The first attempt to start the race saw the caution quickly appear when Rusty Webb got into Bobby Mays between turns one and two, with Mays hitting the wall at exit of the second corner spinning on the backstretch.

With the race finally under green, Byrd powered into the lead over Trevor Sise, Ahl, Heath Alvey and Rusty Ballenger. Ahl and Alvey battled for the third spot a couple of laps before Alvey grabbed the position. Ballenger slowed and entered the pits on lap 7 ending his race.

Off the ensuing double-file restart Byrd once again was riding out front, but Alvey moved into second place followed by Sise. During a long green flag run the field got spread out around “The Gap.” Byrd appeared headed toward victory lane, but lapped traffic came into play late which held Byrd up and allowed Alvey to close in.

Many say on the white flag lap, it’s wreckers or checkers when battling for the victory. When Alvey made his move getting alongside of Byrd, it was just a matter of who got the better run up off of the fourth turn to carry more momentum down the front straightaway. Alvey barely edged Byrd for the $1,500 win, with Sise, Shannon Emery and Ahl rounding out the top five. Completing the top 10 finishers were Zach Sise, Chris Chandler, Webb, Gary Crittenden and Michael Smith.

A strong 28-car field of Sportsman Late Model competitors signed-in for qualifying, with a last chance B-main determining the 24 car starting lineup. Travis Fultz of Harrogate jumped out to the lead early and recorded the $1,000 win over Adam Mitchell, Rex Coffey, Mitchell Burke and Jason Sizemore. Completing the top 10 finishers were Kip Sawyer, Nicholas Shelton, Joe Bray, Josh Evans and Jody Horton.

David Clark of Tazewell was fast qualifier and grabbed the lead at start of the Modified Street feature and once out front never looked back en route to capturing the victory over Wayne Rader, Shannon Emery, Kaleb Trent and Kurt Owens.

Eli Keck of Corryton held off John Stevens for the Classic win, followed by Charles Bates, Richie Overholser and Quincy Arnwine.

Josh Henry of Newport and his teammate Josh Driskill arrived to the track late and missed qualifying, thus having to start the 20-lap Street Stock feature from the rear. Both quickly charged their way up through the field and Driskill took the lead on lap 4, with Henry tagging on to his back bumper. Henry moved ahead on lap 8 and he and Driskill ran one-two until the final lap, when Driskill slowed with a flat right-front tire. Henry recorded the win over Tony Trent, David Kerr, Brandon Johnson and Driskill.

Derik Duggan of Lenoir City led all 20 laps in winning the Mini Stock feature over Tommy Newton, Chad Manning, Chris Evans and Walter Walsh.


1. Heath Alvey #7
2. Tim Byrd #24
3. Trevor Sise #73
4. Shannon Emery #52
5. Adam Ahl #7A
6. Zach Sise #9
7. Chris Chandler #8
8. Rusty Webb #22
9. Gary Crittenden #18
10. Michael Smith #4
11. Tyler Smith #32
12. Taylor Coffman #30
13. Jeremy Livingood #00
14. Tim Sant #79
15. Kevin Jackson Jr. #20
16. David Robbins #59
17. Austin Atkins #14
18. Tim Maupin #3
19. Rusty Ballenger #29
20. Stephen Rogers #144
21. Adam Tolliver #28
22. Bobby Mays #25


1. Travis Fultz #T0
2. Adam Mitchell #50
3. Rex Coffey #3
4. Mitchell Burke #54
5. Jason Sizemore #22
6. Kip Sawyer #44
7. Nicholas Shelton #9
8. Joe Bray #76
9. Josh Evans #119
10. Jody Horton #56J
11. Brad Dyer #20
12. Lucas Fuller #77
13. David Bullington #20
14. Chris Long #75
15. Floyd Self #3
16. Vic Chandler #88
17. Andy Wilder #24
18. Cody Brake #58
19. Kyle Manis #25K
20. James Parrott #10
21. Grant Corum #49
22. Roger England #E5
23. Jackie Yates #43
24. Justin Bowers #18

Did Not Start: Rick Utsman #U12, Justin Talley #23, Brandon Waller #71, Matthew Ford #35


1. David Clark #13
2. Wayne Rader #01R
3. Shannon Emery #M2
4. Kaleb Trent #3
5. Kurt Owens #14
6. Eric Hux #01
7. Jeffrey Melton #4
8. Bubba Long #10
9. Tyler Haynes #11
10. Bobbie Petty #XP21
11. Dustin Ratliff #10
12. Brad Davis #88
13. RJ Mayes #6M
14. Mike Williams #119
15. Tracy Wolfe #11W

CLASSIC (20 laps)

1. Eli Keck #8
2. John Stevens #7
3. Charles Bates #27
4. Richie Overholser #88
5. Quincy Arnwine #17
6. Chris Worsham #78
7. Nicholas King #66
8. Tyler Trent #61
9. Adam Ogle #26
10. Chuck Kilian #96

STREET STOCK (20 laps)

1. Josh Henry #25
2. Tony Trent #18
3. David Kerr #71K
4. Brandon Johnson #71
5. Josh Driskill #D00
6. Austin Lefevers #90
7. Jason Leatherwood #29
8. Tony Trent #501
9. Jason Rollins #012
10. Logan Cobb #C4
11. Colby Scott #4
12. Wendell Williams #71

MINI STOCK (20 laps)

1. Derik Duggan #25
2. Tommy Newton #T2
3. Chad Manning #7up
4. Chris Evans #41
5. Walter Walsh #3rd Man
6. Robert Fox #5
7. Tommy Cameron #40
8. Mitchell Fox #1
9. John Fox #94
10. Greg Everhart #70
11. Chris Nix #18
12. Stephen Russell #77

Volunteer Speedway (Office): 423-235-5020
General Manager: 423-676-9080