☆☆☆ NEXT RACE: Thank you for your support of racing in 2023 at Volunteer Speedway! ☆☆☆ ... ☆☆☆ NEXT RACE: Thank you for your support of racing in 2023 at Volunteer Speedway! ☆☆☆ ... ☆☆☆ NEXT RACE: Thank you for your support of racing in 2023 at Volunteer Speedway! ☆☆☆ ... ☆☆☆ NEXT RACE: Thank you for your support of racing in 2023 at Volunteer Speedway! ☆☆☆
RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube

Jared Horstman captures ‘Clash at The Gap’ United Sprint Car Series win at Volunteer Speedway

By Volunteer Speedway | 25 September 2021 | 2021 | | 0 Comments   
Jared Horstman captures ‘Clash at The Gap’ United Sprint Car Series win at Volunteer Speedway
BULLS GAP, Tenn. (Sept. 24, 2021) – Jared Horstman of Elida, Ohio, grabbed the lead on the start and led all 25 laps Friday at Volunteer Speedway for his second United Sprint Car Series Outlaw Thunder Tour presented by K&N Filters win of the 2021 season in Night 1 of the “Clash at The Gap.”

Current USCS national points leader Danny Smith from Chillicothe, Ohio, chased his fellow Ohian across the finish line in the runner-up spot. Charlotte, North Carolina’s Eric Riggins Jr. passed  two-time series champion Morgan Turpen from Cordova, Tennessee, racing off the fourth turn to the checkered flag to claim the final podium spot, relegating the Memphis-area school teacher Turpen to a fourth place finish. … The evening’s fastest qualifier Landon Britt from Atoka, Tennessee, had a mid-race flat tire while chasing Horstman for the lead after scraping the second turn wall and had to go to the rear after a tire change. He then charged from last place back to complete the top five.

The 13-time USCS national champion Terry Gray of Bartlett, Tennessee, finished in sixth place after running as high as fourth. Dewayne White from Byhalia, Mississippi, followed Gray in seventh, and Luke Griffin from Sandusky, Ohio, was eighth. Two past USCS Rookie of the Year drivers, Jeff Willingham from Ripley, Mississippi, was ninth and Eric Gunderson from Canton, Georgia, completed the top ten finishers.
Landon Britt set fast-time at 10.932 seconds around the legendary high banks at “The Gap.” Eric Riggins, Jr. won the Engler Machine and Tool first heat, with Dewayne White winning the Brown and Miller Racing Solutions second heat. 
Jared Horstman started on the pole and won the USCS Hoosier Speed Dash to earn the pole position for the main event. Eric Riggins Jr. was the Wilwood Dusc Brakes Hard Charger after advancing the most positions in the A-Main.
Mac Lockhart of Knoxville outran Bobby Mays for the 20-lap Classic feature win, with Marcus Mays, Charles Bates and Kevin Crane rounding out the top five.
James Burnette of Knoxville held off a hard-charging Clint Cox to get the Front Wheel Drive win in Night 1 of the East Tennessee Front Wheel Drive Championship presented by Lashes & Waxing by Paige and Crawford’s Auto Detailing. Finishing third through fifth, respectively, were Austin Maples, Tyler Walton and Raymond Fuson.
Night 2 of the United Sprint Car Series “Clash at The Gap” is set for SATURDAY, SEPT. 25. Also racing besides the USCS Outlaw Thunder winged Sprint Cars will be Crate Late Model, Open Wheel Modified, Sportsman Late Model, Street Stock and Front Wheel Drive. Grandstand gates open at 5 p.m., with hot laps scheduled at 7 p.m. Complete event information at www.VolunteerSpeedway.com.


“CLASH AT THE GAP” NIGHT 1 (ROCKAUTO.COM A-MAIN 25 LAPS): 1. 17-Jared Horstman[1]; 2. 4-Danny Smith[3]; 3. 47-Eric Riggins Jr.[7]; 4. 10M-Morgan Turpen[6]; 5. 10L-Landon Britt[2]; 6. 10-Terry Gray[5]; 7. 10K-Dewayne White[8]; 8. 11G-Luke Griffith[4]; 9. 28-Jeff Willingham[10]; 10. 7E-Eric Gunderson[9]; 11. 100-Wade Buttrey[11]; 12. 7D-Donnie Goodwin[12] DNS 51-Jake Wardrop
HOOSIER SPEED DASH (6 Laps): 1. 17-Jared Horstman[1]; 2. 10L-Landon Britt[3]; 3. 4-Danny Smith[4]; 4. 11G-Luke Griffith[2]; 5. 10-Terry Gray[5]; 6. 10M-Morgan Turpen[6]
ENGLER MACHINE & TOOL HEAT #1 (8 Laps): 1. 47-Eric Riggins Jr[1]; 2. 10L-Landon Britt[4]; 3. 17-Jared Horstman[3]; 4. 10M-Morgan Turpen[2]; 5. 7E-Eric Gunderson[5]; 6. 100-Wade Buttrey[6] 7. 51 Jake Wardrop DNS
BROWN & MILLER RACING SOLUTIONS HEAT #2 (8 Laps): 1. 10K-Dewayne White[1]; 2. 10-Terry Gray[3]; 3. 4-Danny Smith[4]; 4. 11G-Luke Griffith[2]; 5. 28-Jeff Willingham[5]; 6. 7D-Donnie Goodwin[6]
QUALIFYING (2 Laps): 1. 10L-Landon Britt[5]; 2. 4-Danny Smith[11]; 3. 17-Jared Horstman[8]; 4. 10-Terry Gray[2]; 5. 10M-Morgan Turpen[4]; 6. 11G-Luke Griffith[10]; 7. 47-Eric Riggins Jr[1]; 8. 10K-Dewayne White[12]; 9. 7E-Eric Gunderson[9]; 10. 28-Jeff Willingham[7]; 11. 100-Wade Buttrey[6]; 12. 7D-Donnie Goodwin[3]
13 Entries
K&N Filters Fast-Time: Landon Britt 10.932 seconds
1. Adam Mitchell #50
2. Wayne Rader #01
3. Addison Cardwell #07A
4. Kip Sawyer #44
5. Hayden Cardwell #07
6. Kaede Loudy #126
7. Gary Blanken #05
8. Mason Bare #24
9. Aaron Jones #7J
10. Kris Pauley #B54
11. Kyle Manis #25K
12. Ray Jarnagin #773
13. David Bullington #20
14. Blayne Pauley #12B
15. Nicholas Shelton #9
16. Chase Lawson #4
17. David Beeler #3
18. Warren McMahan #33
19. Brandon Waller #71
20. Brandon Ramsey #11
21. James Parrott #10
22. Josh Beal #51
23. Richard Cox #28
24. Shane Starnes #112
CLASSIC (20 laps)
1. Mac Lockhart #00
2. Bobby Mays #5
3. Marcus Mays #12M
4. Charles Bates #27
5. Kevin Crane #52
6. Jeff Mays #6
7. Garnett Smith #74
1. James Burnette #18
2. Clint Cox #3
3. Austin Maples #23
4. Tyler Walton #731
5. Raymond Fuson #17
6. Eric Partin #75
7. Cody Bean #2
8. Ricky Ritenour #24
9. Jason Wilde #21
10. Josh Ramsey #21R
11. Dan Sandiford #1S
12. Scott Velez #44
13. Scotty Gosnell #42
14. David Trent #57
15. Bradley Owens #39
16. Ray Wyatt #7W
17. Brandon Crawford #00J
18. Greg Wyatt #17W
Did Not Start: Jackson Crawford #00
United Sprint Car Series – Pete Walton (President): 770-865-6097 www.uscsracing.com
Volunteer Speedway (Office): 423-235-5020 www.VolunteerSpeedway.com
Steve Collins (Competition Director): 423-444-2907