☆☆☆ NEXT RACE: Thank you for your support of racing in 2023 at Volunteer Speedway! ☆☆☆ ... ☆☆☆ NEXT RACE: Thank you for your support of racing in 2023 at Volunteer Speedway! ☆☆☆ ... ☆☆☆ NEXT RACE: Thank you for your support of racing in 2023 at Volunteer Speedway! ☆☆☆ ... ☆☆☆ NEXT RACE: Thank you for your support of racing in 2023 at Volunteer Speedway! ☆☆☆
RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube

Welshan, Guinn, Hickey, Trent, Byers, Stevens capture ‘Apex Bank Night at Volunteer Speedway’ victories

By Volunteer Speedway | 08 September 2019 | 2019 | | 0 Comments   

Welshan, Guinn, Hickey, Trent, Byers, Stevens capture ‘Apex Bank Night at Volunteer Speedway’ victories

BULLS GAP, Tenn. (Sept. 7, 2019) — It may be football time in Tennessee, but there’s also exciting dirt-track racing at Volunteer Speedway scheduled through the end of October. A good crowd was in attendance Saturday for Apex Bank Night at “The Gap,” and they were treated to great two- and three-wide racing action in each division.

Jason Welshan of Maryville led flag-to-flag and pocketed $2,000 for the Apex Bank 40 Crate Late Model win, while Aaron Guinn of Russellville also led wire-to-wire in capturing the Sportsman Late Model victory.

Logan Hickey of Morristown captured the Modified Street feature win, while John Stevens of Wallins Creek, Kentucky, sped to yet another Classic victory.

Tony Trent of Morristown recorded the Street Stock win, with John Byers of Knoxville taking the Mini Stock victory.

Jason Welshan and Tyler Arrington battled for the lead at start of the Crate Late Model (Apex Bank 40) feature before Welshan moved to the point to lead the first lap back around at the start-finish line. Behind them Jordon Horton, Tim Maupin, Taylor Coffman, Cameron Skinner, Shannon Emery, Tim Byrd, Gary Crittenden, Terry Poore, Ruben Mayfield, Jamie Stanley, Tim Sant, Anthony Conley and Jackie Hughes were jockeying for real estate.

Both Horton and Maupin worked their way around Arrington on lap 5, while Byrd was also overtaking Emery, Skinner and Coffman on the next few circuits to move into fifth in the running order. Maupin was working on Horton trying to grab the second spot, and finally on lap 13 racing off the fourth turn he took the position and set his sights ahead on leader Welshan. Caution waved on lap 25 when Kevin Jackson Jr. slowed to a stop high in the fourth turn with front-end damage.

With the field bunched back up for a double-file restart, once back under green the action quickly heated up. Several cars running within feet of each other at high speed, well, that’s just asking for trouble. And, trouble is what happened for Emery when he wrecked in the second corner on lap 31 after getting tangled up with others, almost flipping to end his strong run and bringing out the caution flag.

Back under green for a run to the finish, Maupin hoped to be able to get around Welshan. While he gave it a good effort, Welshan would not be denied the $2,000 victory as he won over Maupin, Horton, Byrd and Arrington. … However, Horton failed go to post-race tech and thus was disqualified, which moved Crittenden into fifth place.

Vic Chandler and Aaron Guinn led the stellar 22-car Sportsman Late Model field to green from the front row, with Guinn, who was making just his second start of the season, jumping out to the lead on the opening lap and never looking back en route to winning his second feature. While Guinn was in command out front, behind him the racing action saw Chandler, Chris Coffey, Adam Mitchell, Jonathan Miracle, Rex Coffey, Logan Seal, Robbie Buchanan, Kyle Manis, Warren McMahan, Brad Dyer, Joe Bray, Chris Raines and a whole host of others battling for positions.

Dyer and Chris Coffey entered the night of racing separated by only one-point in the battle for the championship. With Coffey, Dyer and Bray running together, on lap 17 racing off the fourth turn Coffey got out of shape (turned sideways) which in turn collected Dyer, Bray and Mike Kelley as they spun on the front straightaway after having to check up.

Off the double-file restart Guinn rocketed back out to a comfortable lead and went on to win over Mitchell, Chandler, Chris Coffey and Seal.

Logan Hickey was strong in capturing his second Modified Street feature win, taking the checkered flag over Wayne Rader, Jeffrey Melton, Kurt Owens and Dustin Ratliff.

Former track champion Jamie Whitt and Shawn Henry battled for the lead early in the Street Stock feature, with Whitt rim-riding around top of the high banks in the corners and Henry working him on the inside. Tony Trent, point leader Jason Rollins, Austin Lefevers and Marvin Green Jr. were also right in the mix battling for position. Once Trent grabbed the lead he held off Lefevers, Rollins, Green and Henry to record his second win on the season.

John Byers outran Chris Evans, Hayston Collett, Chad Manning and Walter Walsh for his fourth Mini Stock victory on the season.

John Stevens cruised to his division-leading tenth Classic feature win over Chris McKinney, Charles Bates, Jim Canning Jr. and Chad Manning.


CRATE LATE MODEL (Apex Bank 40 … $2,000-to-win)

1. Jason Welshan #01
2. Tim Maupin #3
3. Tim Byrd #24
4. Tyler Arrington #002
5. Gary Crittenden #18
6. Terry Poore #2
7. Ruben Mayfield #00
8. Tim Sant #79
9. Anthony Conley #87
10. Jackie Hughes #27
11. Jamie Stanley #5
12. Steven Martin #46
13. Cameron Skinner #33X
14. David Robbins #59
15. Taylor Coffman #30
16. Shannon Emery #52
17. Kevin Jackson Jr. #20
18. Jody Adkins #41
19. Adam Ahl #7

DISQUALIFIED (Post-Race Tech): Jordon Horton #57


1. Aaron Guinn #97G
2. Adam Mitchell #50
3. Vic Chandler #88
4. Chris Coffey #97
5. Logan Seal #17
6. Chris Raines #00
7. Warren McMahan #33
8. Brad Dyer #20
9. Joe Bray #76
10. Robbie Buchanan #13
11. Roger England #E5
12. David Bullington #20B
13. Kris Pauley #54
14. Mike Kelley #8
15. Jackie Yates #43JD
16. Jerry Williams Jr. #28
17. Billy Galloway #G21
18. Floyd Self #3
19. Jonathan Miracle #54
20. Brandon Waller #71
21. Kyle Manis #25K
22. Rex Coffey #3


1. Logan Hickey #7
2. Wayne Rader #01
3. Jeffrey Melton #4
4. Kurt Owens #14
5. Dustin Ratliff #10
6. David Clark #13
7. Tracy Wolfe #11
8. Tyler Haynes #11H
9. Landon Steele #S18
10. Ryan Watson #11W
11. Bob Petty #XP21
12. John Grooms #93
13. Gary Blanken #05
14. Lance Creasman #C8
15. Nick Presley #69

STREET STOCK (20 laps)

1. Tony Trent #18
2. Austin Lefevers #14
3. Jason Rollins #012
4. Marvin Green Jr. #15
5. Shawn Henry #25
6. Jamie Whitt #1W
7. Tony Grooms #99
8. Coby Scott #4
9. Todd Beeler #1
10. Alex Qualls #71
11. Colby Long #10
12. Logan Cobb #C4
13. Chesten Anderson #77

Did Not Start: Jackson Austin #11

MINI STOCK (20 laps)

1. John Byers #83
2. Chris Evans #41
3. Hayston Collett #72
4. Chad Manning #7up
5. Walter Walsh #3rd Man
6. Mitchell Fox #1
7. Greg Everhart #70
8. John Gulliver #00
9. Tommy Cameron #40
10. Damien Holt #18
11. Bubby Braden #7
12. Samuel Fox #5

CLASSIC (20 laps)

1. John Stevens #7
2. Chris McKinney #113
3. Charles Bates #27
4. Jim Canning Jr. #31
5. Chad Manning #6
6. Chuck Kilian #96



Volunteer Speedway: 423-235-5020 www.VolunteerSpeedway.com
General Manager: 423-676-9080
Greg Harvey (Technical Inspection Director): 423-384-3511