☆☆☆ NEXT RACE: "May The Fourth Be With You" scheduled Saturday, May 11, 2024 at Volunteer Speedway! ☆☆☆ ... ☆☆☆ NEXT RACE: "May The Fourth Be With You" scheduled Saturday, May 11, 2024 at Volunteer Speedway! ☆☆☆ ... ☆☆☆ NEXT RACE: "May The Fourth Be With You" scheduled Saturday, May 11, 2024 at Volunteer Speedway! ☆☆☆ ... ☆☆☆ NEXT RACE: "May The Fourth Be With You" scheduled Saturday, May 11, 2024 at Volunteer Speedway! ☆☆☆
RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube

Moore gets first Volunteer Speedway victory, with Owens and Burger also winning

By Volunteer Speedway | 18 October 2015 | 2015 | | 0 Comments   

Moore gets first Volunteer Speedway victory, with Owens and Burger also winning

BULLS GAP, Tenn. (Oct. 17, 2015) — Ricky Moore of Mosheim closed the 2015 racing season at Volunteer Speedway by capturing his first career Sportsman Late Model victory, while Kurt Owens of Newport won the Modified Street feature, with John Burger of Chattanooga taking home $2,500 for winning the Enduro 100.

With a stellar 42-car field of Sportsman Late Models in the pits, the top 16 from qualifying locked into the 30-lap feature with Moore setting fast-time to earn the pole position. Jody Horton and Rodney Kiker each won B-mains.

Tim Byrd grabbed the lead over Moore, Jerry Broyles, Josh Henry and Tim Maupin at the start, with Maupin getting around Henry for fourth on the second lap as the field raced off the fourth turn. Jensen Ford followed Maupin in overtaking Henry, but Henry battled back to reclaim the position on the fourth circuit.

An intense battle for real estate between Henry, Ford and Forrest Trent led to a tangle involving Henry and Trent on lap 10 in turn two, which would end the race for Henry and force Trent to the rear of the field for the restart.

Bryd powered back out ahead of Moore and Broyles, but his run out front came to an abrupt end on lap 13 when he spun between turns one and two, the result from a broken front shock.

Moore won a couple of Super Stock races back in 2002, but had never visited victory lane behind the wheel of a Late Model. The 47-year-old veteran racer had recorded several runner-up and top-five finishes over the years, but the stars had just never aligned perfectly for the personable Moore to be able capture that elusive first career win.

Moore liked the view riding on the point for the restart, with Broyles and Maupin close behind him. Racing action was heated for position involving Maupin, Ford and Warren McMahan, with the trio basically three-wide at end of the backstretch. Maupin came out on the losing end following contact from McMahan between turns three and four that sent Maupin spinning to bring the caution out.

Following yet another restart, Moore smashed the loud pedal to lead Broyles and Ford. But working his way into the mix was Gary Crittenden having a strong run, as he passed Ford to take over third in the running order and quickly got around Broyles to move into second place.

A late race caution on lap 25, when Chris Chandler smacked the outside wall at end of the front straightaway, tightened the field up for one final restart. Would Crittenden be able to mount a charge on Moore to wrestle the lead away?

Back under green and with just five laps remaining, Moore, driving the Moore’s Auto Sales & Tire Center of Mosheim/S&S Millwright/Blue Springs Tire of Mosheim/Greene County Pest Control/Tri-Am RV of Bulls Gap/Casa Guerrero Mexican Restaurant of Greeneville/Kesterson Recovery/Terry & Sandy Brown/Matlock Decal Co./Hoosier Race Tires/TNT Race Cars/No. 75 Chevrolet Camaro SS, would not be denied his first-ever Sportsman Late Model victory as he pocketed $1,000 for winning over Crittenden, Trent, Broyles and Jesse Helton.

Completing the top 10 finishers were Bryson Dennis, Ford, McMahan, Maupin and Greg Huskey.

“This has definitely been a long time coming getting our first Late Model win,” said a smiling Moore from victory lane. “We’ve come very close on several occasions but circumstances just kept us from getting the victory. I can’t thank all of the people enough who have supported me over the years, because they never lost faith in me. To come as close like we have to winning and then either have something mechanical or other situations take away your shot to seal the deal and get the victory, it’s tough to not sometimes let it get you down.

“But I’m not a quitter. I knew one of these nights would finally be our night to shine and get to celebrate in victory lane with family and friends. It’s a great feeling, just a really good way to end the racing season in style. After getting this win tonight, to be quite honest I wish we could race again next week because I really believe now that we’ve gotten this first win under us, we’re ready to win more races.”

Kurt Owens jumped out to the lead over Tony Horton and Vic Chandler on the opening lap of the Modified Street feature, with Gary Blanken and Jon Cook in pursuit. Blanken got around Chandler for the third spot on lap 6 racing off the fourth turn. Owens would not look back as he recorded the $500 victory over Horton, Blanken, Chandler and Willie Busler.

With 30 entries for the Enduro 100, the race turned into a mad scramble for position around the high banks for the entire distance. John Burger finished ahead of Ron McNew to get the victory.


1. Ricky Moore #75
2. Gary Crittenden #18
3. Forrest Trent #101
4. Jerry Broyles #72
5. Jesse Helton #57
6. Bryson Dennis #15
7. Jensen Ford #83
8. Warren McMahan #33
9. Tim Maupin #2
10. Greg Huskey #32
11. Jackie Hughes #27
12. Kenny Ford #61
13. Tim Byrd #24
14. Josh Driskill #D00
15. Ray Jarnagin #773
16. Kip Pearson #00k
17. Chris Chandler #88
18. Travis Fultz #14
19. Tommy Eastridge #37
20. Jody Horton #56
21. Jason Melton #95
22. Rodney Kiker #7
23. Tyler Arrington #22
24. Josh Henry #B00

Did Not Start: Gary Blanken #05, Aaron Guinn #97, Eric Weber #25, Taran Hurst #22, Michael Boyd #3, Richard Adkins #73, Adam Tolliver #28, Cody Brake #58, Bryan Russell #20, Kurt Owens #12, Chuck McMurray #00, Josh Evans #119, Floyd Self #3, Shannon Reece #68, Travis Crosby #92, Nick Kniat #k5, Phillip Shockley #34, Keith Helton #5


1. Kurt Owens #14
2. Tony Horton #56
3. Gary Blanken #05
4. Vic Chandler #88
5. Willie Busler #31
6. Austin Neeley #3
7. Jon Cook #0z
8. Mike Mays #30
9. Darrin Busler #B4
10. Floyd Humphrey #3
11. Kaleb Trent #3
12. Craig Schmalzried #6
13. Cody Thompson #38
14. Tyler Smith #32
15. Landon Steele #18
16. Robbie Buchanan #p21
17. Austin Atkins #14
18. Charlie Bates #27
19. Jason Long #15
20. Dakotah Trent #44

Did Not Start: Jeff Ferguson #24, David Bullington #20, Daniel Reese #66

Volunteer Speedway (Recording Only): 423-235-5020
Phyllis Loven (Owner): 423-676-9081