RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube

Trammell, Broyles, Horton capture Volunteer Speedway victories

By Volunteer Speedway | 20 September 2015 | 2015 | | 0 Comments   

Trammell, Broyles, Horton capture Volunteer Speedway victories

BULLS GAP, Tenn. (Sept. 19, 2015) — With fall of the year officially arriving next week, we can also expect cooler temperatures to follow. But the racing action was heated Saturday at Volunteer Speedway with Jason Trammell of Knoxville, Jerry Broyles of Jonesborough, and Tony Horton of Sneedville all visiting victory lane.

Jason Trammell grabbed the lead at start of the Steel Head Late Model 35-lap feature over Greg Estes and Jason Manley. Manley got around Estes for second place just two laps in and looked like he might have something for leader Trammell.

Dale Ball passed Barrett Lowe for the fourth spot racing off the fourth turn on lap 3. With Trammell leading the way followed by Manley and Estes, unfortunately for Manley he tangled with the slower car of Jason Bowers between turns one and two on lap 10, with both cars spinning to bring out the caution flag.

Back under green off the restart and Trammell was up-on-the-wheel hustling the Trammell Construction Co./Hatmaker Holdings/Quality Medical Center/Fast Lane Signs & Graphics/Vic Hill Race Engines/Merle 96.7 FM/Tornado Alley 3 Minute Car Wash/Hoosier Racing Tire/CJ Rayburn Race Cars/Team Trammell Racing/No. 90j Chevrolet Camaro SS, around the high banks setting a blistering pace out front.

The 39-year-old Trammell was never seriously challenged during the event as he easily cruised to his second victory this season over Estes, John Tweed, Ball and Stanley Donahoo.

Jerry Broyles has won many races at “The Gap” over the years and also captured Open Wheel Modified and Crate Late Model track championships, but to say this has been a trying season for the veteran driver would be an understatement. He’s had some strong runs, but he’s also experienced more than his fair share of bad luck in getting collected in wrecks not of his own doing.

Broyles jumped out to the lead over Tim Byrd and Chris Chandler at start of the 30-lap Sportsman Late Model feature. Chandler brought the caution out when he slowed to a stop high in the banking between turns three and four on lap 12 to prematurely bring an end to a strong third-place run.

Back under green off the restart, Broyles was on a rail in leading Byrd and Marty Calloway. Tim Maupin got around Calloway for the third spot on lap 13. Calloway tangled with the slower lapped car of Hugh Scalf between turns one and two on lap 19, and by time he reeled his mount back in he had lost several positions.

But out front the race clearly belonged to Broyles, driving the In God We Trust/Hopson Racing & Fabrication/Steve Broyles Racing/No. 72 Chevrolet Camaro SS, as he finally shook the monkey off his back to win in convincing fashion after leading flag-to-flag. Broyles was chased to the checkered flag by Byrd, Maupin, Gary Crittenden and Kenny Ford.

Tony Horton finally checked an item off his “bucket list” in capturing his first-ever victory at Volunteer Speedway. The 54-year-old veteran racer, driving the Greasy Rock Auto Shop/Discount Auto Parts/Bobby’s Honda/Clinch River Market/Presley Farms/No. 56 Chevrolet Monte Carlo, had consistently ran inside the top five all season in the Modified Street division. Tonight all the cards fell into place for Horton as he led from start-to-finish in winning over Vic Chandler, Jamie Whitt, Mike Mays and R.J. Mayes.

The Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series will headline the racing program at Volunteer Speedway next Saturday, Sept. 26, with Sportsman Late Model, Modified Street and Pure Street divisions also in action.


  1. Jason Trammell #90j
  2. Greg Estes #31
  3. John Tweed #5
  4. Dale Ball #2
  5. Stanley Donahoo #00
  6. Matthew Holt #22
  7. Jason Bowers #21
  8. Bryan Shockley #17
  9. Eddie King Jr. #39
  10. Jason Manley #32
  11. Barrett Lowe #72
  12. Brent Hensley #70
  13. Rodney Kiker #20


  1. Jerry Broyles #72
  2. Tim Byrd #24
  3. Tim Maupin #2
  4. Gary Crittenden #18
  5. Kenny Ford #61
  6. Bryson Dennis #15
  7. Jody Horton #56j
  8. Tyler Arrington #22
  9. Marty Calloway #79
  10. Floyd Self #3
  11. Tyler Pearson #00
  12. Taran Hurst #22
  13. Ray Jarnagin #773
  14. Richard Adkins #73
  15. Brandon Taylor #55
  16. Hugh Scalf #56
  17. Adam Tolliver #28
  18. Mike Kelley #X
  19. Chris Chandler #88


  1. Tony Horton #56
  2. Vic Chandler #88
  3. Jamie Whitt #1
  4. Mike Mays #30
  5. R.J. Mayes #6m
  6. Willie Busler #31
  7. Tyler Smith #32
  8. Parker Estes #31
  9. Kaleb Trent #3
  10. David Bullington #20
  11. Dale Reed #52
  12. Craig Schmalzried #6
  13. Chris Carver #27
  14. Jeff Akard #00
  15. Landon Steele #18